Our History


From 1998 to 2004, our organization was known as The Myra Sadker Advocates. We sponsored events in schools, colleges and businesses to promote equity on Myra's birthday. The What You Can Do section of this website offers over 100 suggestions for teachers, parents and students to continue this tradition.

During this time, Myra Sadker Advocates also recognized individuals whose work advances the opportunities for girls and boys, as well as students and others who promoted equity. Below is a brief overview of the award winners during this time.

Myra Sadker Equity Awards
Others recognized for their work...

Myra Sadker American University Student Equity Award winners:

  • 2002 - Kate Benson, Melanie Brown, and James Pearlstein
  • 2003 - Kelly Costello and Christine Boehm
  • 2004 - Celine Fejeran and Kerrilyn Bowers

Myra Sadker Curriculum Award winners:

  • 2004 - Jatila van der Veen, University of California-Santa Barbara
    and Laurie Mandel, Murphy Junior High School, Stony Brook, New York